7 Essential Hajj Rituals Explained: From Tawaf to Stoning of the Devil

Discover the 7 essential Hajj rituals, from Tawaf to the Stoning of the Devil, and ensure a spiritually fulfilling pilgrimage. Don't miss out!

Below is an explanation that clarifies the actions and Hajj rituals, and an explanation of the ruling on each Hajj rituals. Some of them are pillars, some are obligatory, and some are Sunnah. This is explained as follows


Ihram is when the pilgrim intends to enter ihram – to enter into the Hajj rituals – with his heart, preparing the intention for that, and the reason for calling it ihram is because the pilgrim, once entering into it, deprives him of things that were permissible for him. 


The opinions of jurists have varied regarding the ruling on reciting the Talbiyah when entering ihram, between recommended and obligatory, and it is well-known among the majority of scholars. Saying it is desirable.


Regarding the timeframe for Hajj: The pilgrim may enter into ihram during the months of Hajj, which are: Shawwal, Dhu al-Qa’dah, and the ten days of Dhu al-Hijjah. The Hajj activities take place on the eighth, ninth, tenth, eleventh, twelfth, and thirteen of Dhu al-Hijjah. 


With regard to the spatial time for ihram, they are according to the country as follows. Miqat of the people of Medina: Dhu al-Hulayfa. Miqat of the people of the Levant, Morocco and Egypt: Al-Juhfa. Miqat of the people of Yemen: Al-Saadiya.

2-Tawaf of arrival

The Tawaf alqdoum is one of the Sunnahs of Hajj rituals, according to the majority, and it is called the Tawaf of Roses, the Tawaf of Al-Ward, and the Tawaf of Greetings. Because it is prescribed for those coming from other than the Holy City of Mecca, and the Tawaf alqdoum begins with the pilgrim entering the Holy City of Mecca, in order to greet the Ancient House, and its end is to stop at Arafat according to the majority of jurists.


Sa’y is one of the pillars of Hajj rituals, according to the views of the Maliki, Shafi’i, and Hanbali schools of thought. The Hanafi school of thought adhered to the Sunnah of sa’i, such that the pilgrim’s omission does not entail bloodshed – slaughtering a sacrificial animal – and the majority held that the condition in sa’i is to complete seven rounds.

4-Day of Tarwiyah

The Day of Tarwiyah falls on the eighth day of Dhul-Hijjah, and it is recommended for the pilgrim to leave Mecca to Mina on the Day of Tarwiyah, and pray five prayers in Mina: noon, afternoon, sunset, evening, and dawn, according to the agreement of the four imams, and spend the night there on the night of Arafat. Pilgrims travel from Mina to Arafat on foot after sunrise in Arafat, which is Sunnah according to the majority.

MUST READ:  Step-by-Step Guide: Learning to Pray in Arabic Made Easy

5-Standing at Arafat

The ruling on standing at Arafat is one of the pillars of the Hajj rituals without which the Hajj is not complete, according to the agreement of the four imams. Its pillar has been proven by the Sunnah and consensus. 


It was mentioned about the virtue of this day on the authority of Aisha – may Allah be pleased with her – that the Messenger of Allah, may Allah’s prayers and peace be upon him, said: There is no day on which Allah frees a servant from the Fire more than the Day of Arafat, and He will approach and then boast about them to the angels, and say: He did not want These people.

6-Overnight stay in Muzdalifah

The border of Muzdalifah is between the two stations of Arafat. The path between the two mountains, near Muhassir to the right and left, is the middle road between Arafat and Mina, and is in the form of the pilgrim’s walk to Muzdalifah. 


So he should be calm and dignified, and he should speed up if he finds a way out. The majority of people are of the opinion that it is permissible to delay the Maghrib and Isha prayers in order to perform them in Muzdalifah.

7-Throwing at Jamarat al-Aqaba

It is called the Great Jamarat, and it is located at the end of Mina towards Mecca. The jurists agreed that throwing stones is one of the duties of Hajj rituals, and it is thrown in special places for stoning, and these stones are thrown from all directions, on the authority of Abdullah bin Amr bin Al-Aas, who said. 


(The Messenger of Allah, may Allah bless him and grant him peace May Allah bless him and grant him peace. During the Farewell Hajj in Mina, people were standing there asking him, and a man came to him and said: I did not feel it, so I shaved before I slaughtered. 


He said: Sacrifice? There is no harm. Then another came and said: I did not feel the pain, so I slaughtered myself before shooting. He said: Shoot and there is no harm.) The number of pebbles that must be thrown is seven pebbles, and the pilgrim says “Allahu Akbar” with one of them.

MUST READ:  Master Arabic Anywhere: Explore the Best Language Learning Platforms

8-Decommissioning from ihram

What is meant by this is exit from ihram, and it has two parts: the minor decomposition: it is achieved by doing what is stated by the jurists: the Shafi’i and Hanbali schools of thought: it is accomplished by stoning Jamrat al-Aqaba, slaughtering, shaving or cutting the hair.


And with this decommissioning everything is permissible for the pilgrim except women. The Hanafi school of thought: This is done by stoning the Jamarat, shaving, and cutting the hair. Thus, everything is permissible for the pilgrim except women.

The greater decomposition: With this decomposition, all prohibited things in ihram are permitted without exception, and the time for decomposition begins according to the schools of thought according to the following: The Hanafi and Maliki schools of thought: The dawn of the Day of Sacrifice occurs, and this decommissioning occurs with the Ifadah Tawaf on the condition of shaving or cutting the hair, except that the Malikis increased the Sa’y before the Tawaf. 

The Shafi’i and Hanbali school of thought: in the middle of the night of sacrifice, which is accomplished by completing the acts of decomposition of stoning Jamarat al-Aqaba, shaving, and circumambulating ifada preceded by sa’i.

9-Tawaf Al-Ifada

The time for Tawaf al-Ifada, which is called Tawaf al-Zeyara. It is one of the pillars of Hajj according to the agreement of the four schools of thought, and what is required is seven rounds according to the majority of scholars, while the Hanafi school of thought said that the required pillar is performing only four rounds.

10-Tawaf al wahda

It is called the Tawaf of the Sadr, and the Tawaf of the End of the Testament, and the reason for calling it that is because the pilgrim bids farewell to the Sacred House with it, and the majority of jurists are of the view that it is obligatory, and its time is after the pilgrim has finished all the Hajj rituals.


The Hajj rituals begin with ihram and end with the farewell tawaf. The complete Hajj rituals – which vary between pillars and obligatory ones – are: starting with ihram, then sa’i, then standing in Arafat, then spending the night in Muzdalifah, then throwing Jamrat al-Aqaba, then exiting ihram, then tawaf al-ifaadah, then throwing pebbles, then the farewell tawaf.